Best Recipe of 2014 #4: Chocolate baklava

cookbooks for dinner

Find a good place to hide the leftovers NOW.

The book:  Cooking Light Global Kitchen: The World’s Most Delicious Food Made Easy, by David Joachim (Oxmoor House, $29.95 – here’s my complete review)

The recipe:  Chocolate baklava

Why I tried it: To be honest, I think it was just because I already had the phyllo in the freezer, as well as a wide selection of nuts.  It’s possible I also wanted an excuse to buy some Nutella, which for me falls firmly in the want-to rather than the have-to shopping-list category.

Why I loved it:  I like baklava, but I’ve never been an addict.  This recipe changed everything.  The baklava looked perfectly OK when it went into the oven.  But when it came out: Oh. My. God.  Those crumbly layers of glistening phyllo.  That subtle crunch.  The chocolate.  The butter!!
I made this recipe twice.  The…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

