Exciting releases for 2016!

 

2015 was another stellar year for cookbooks (look out for an upcoming post on my favorite cookbooks of 2015!), and 2016 seems to be on track to continue this trend. Here are several preorders that have already made it into my cart:

Itsu“Itsu 20-Minute Suppers” (February 2016): This London-based chain (there are over 60 shops) focuses on “celebrating the amazing flavours of the Far East; high in nutrients yet refreshingly low in calories and saturated fat.” Their first cookbook included a range of Japanese and Vietnamese-inspired wraps, spring rolls, broths, noodles and sushi dishes. Itsu 20-minute Suppers is founded on a simple premise, to provide healthy, nutritious suppers within 20 minutes.
51LGhv+XYrL__SX384_BO1,204,203,200_“The Middle Eastern Vegetarian Cookbook” (Salma Hage, Phaidon, April 2016):

“A collection of vegetarian dishes influenced by Middle Eastern flavors from Salma Hage, author of the bestselling classic, The Lebanese Kitchen, also published by Phaidon. A definitive, fresh and approachable collection of 150 traditional recipes from an authoritative voice on Middle Eastern home cooking.”

 

“The Cardamom Trail,” Chetna Makan (May 2016)

A semi-finalist on the Great British Baking Show 2014, Chetn’s baking book fuses Eastern flavors like cardamom, coriander and cinnamon into familiar comfort bakes. Fans of “The New Sugar and Spice” will definitely want to add this to their collection! May 2016.

(See Chetna discuss her upcoming book here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFOc-onMkXU)

 

“Sirocco: Fabulous Flavors From The Middle East” (Sabrina Ghayour, Maysirocco 2016, UK).

Sabrina’s “Persiana” was my top cookbook of 2014, and I am super-excited about her sophomore book “Sirocco” due out next year. Highlighting the use of simple pantry staples and striking flavor combinations, this will definitely be another go-to in my kitchen. Fans of last year’s “Le Comptoir Libanais Express,” another of my top picks of 2014 for its speedy Middle-Eastern inspired dinners, will want to add “Sirocco” to their collection!

 

51GHlNuXPNL__SX382_BO1,204,203,200_“Fresh India: 120 Quick and Flavour-Packed Vegetarian Recipes for Every Day” (Meera Sodha, June 2016, UK)

“Made in India, Cooked in Britain” is one of my favorite books of 2015, and I am super-excited about Meera’s next book, a¬†vegetarian one that contains “surprising recipes for every day made using easy to find ingredients: mushroom and walnut samosas, oven-baked onion bhajis and beetroot and paneer kebabs.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s